P.O. Box 10, 148 Maple St., Florence, OR 97439 • Ph: 541-997-3441 • Fax: 541-997-7979
E-EDITION LAST UPDATED:
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Breaking News Sports Obituaries Travel Guide Meetings Photos Home 

Old depot is historic gem

Modified: Friday, Dec 21st, 2012


The Waterfront Depot was decorated for the holidays at its 100th anniversary celebration Dec. 16.
Marianne Brisbane commemorated the 100th anniversary of the Waterfront Depot building Sunday, Dec. 15, with an open house, great food, wine tasting, and sharing a bit of history.

Brisbane is the owner of three restaurants, Spice, 1285 Restobar and the Waterfront Depot, all in Old Town on Bay Street. She has been running the restaurant in the depot for about eight years.

The depot was built in Mapleton, however, in 1912 or 1913 for the Southern Pacific Railroad. It was moved to Florence, in five or six pieces, chain-saw cut by Mike Johnson, in the mid-1970s, just as it was on the verge of demolition.

Ron Hogeland, who told a few stories about the building at the anniversary celebration, purchased the “puzzle pieces” from Johnson in 1977 and had it rebuilt on its current site by carpenter and handyman Jim Alexander.

For the complete article see the 12-22-2012 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 12-22-2012 paper.


Share on Facebook











Select Page:
Within:
Keyword:

Google

Entertainment







 

Copyright 2014 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal