Siuslaw’s new staff ready for first day

Back row (from left): Kaitlin Federman, SES aide; Charles Melville, SHS English teacher; Cesar Hernandez, SHS science teacher. Row five: Lane Johnson, SHS math teacher; Ida Caldwell, SES custodian; Ryan Lane, SES custodian. Row four: Ron Frakes, SMS assistant principal; Cody Kemp, SMS language arts teacher; Andreaska Jeffcoats, SMS math teacher; Aracely Peddycord, SMS Spanish teacher. Row three: Gary Sarles, SES physical education; Faiza Serang, 3rd-grade teacher; Janet Rue, 5th-grade teacher; Jo Davis, 5th-grade teacher; Kristi Storm, 4th-grade teacher. Second row: Edward Restivo, SMS/SHS band teacher; Audrie Busto, SMS behavior support; Amanda Boulware, SES special programs aide; Riche Newman, SHS special education Teacher. Front row: Pam Hickson, human resources specialist; Megan Lade, 1st-grade teacher; Monica Rasmussen, 1st-grade teacher; Sarah Lecker-Tolentino, SES counselor. Photo by Zac Burtt/Siuslaw News

District welcomes newcomers, honors those with years of service

Sept. 6, 2022 — On the morning of Aug. 31, the entire staff of Siuslaw School District gathered at Han Petersen Field for the annual All Staff Welcome Back.

Donuts, coffee and tea were served to all in attendance, as well as goody bags for all the staff.

Siuslaw Superintendent Andy Grzeskowiak led the ceremony, which began with introductions of the Siuslaw School Board, five of whom were able to attend.

Next was a short presentation by Diane McCalmont about the Florence Community PTA. She also introduced the four PTA Board Members in attendance.

After the PTA portion of the gathering, Grzeskowiak presented staff members with at least 15 years of service to the district a pin and gave them a gift bag.

Those honored were:

  • 15 years of dedicated service — Kyle Lewis and Andy Marohl
  • 25 years of dedicated service — Ethan Dougherty
  • 30 years of dedicated service — Cindi Ramsey

Finally, new staff members for the 2022-23 school year were introduced by each head of department or school’s administrator.

Grzeskowiak introduced three new administrators.

Lisa Utz, Director of Special Programs introduced two special program new staff.

Mike Harklerode and Bev Scott welcomed their four new staff to Siuslaw High.

Andy Marohl was joined by Ron Frakes, who had just been welcomed as the new assistant principal at the middle school. The two of them told those gathered about their five new staff.

Finally, as a bit of a grand finale, Amy Flora and Leonard Ulrich, principal and assistant at Siuslaw Elementary, talked about the 13 new faces that will be working at their school.

For more information about the Siuslaw School District go to